Lab Members

Prof. Dr. Stefan


T. +49 731 50-23101
F. +49 731 50-23102


Institute of Molecular & Cellular Anatomy, Ulm University, Albert-Einstein-Allee 11, 89081 Ulm
M24/Room 4310



1984 – 1992
Medical studies at the Universities of Bochum and Freiburg and Basel

MD degree at the University of Freiburg (supervisor: Prof. Bodo Christ)

1992 – 1996
Residency at the University Hospital of Tübingen (Departments of Gastroenterology and Hematology)

1996 – 2002
Postdoctoral Fellow at the Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine (MDC) Berlin-Buch with Prof. Carmen Birchmeier

2002 – 2007
Junior Research Group Leader and Helmholtz Scholarship at the MDC

Habilitation in Anatomy at the Charité – University Medicine Berlin

Offer W2 Professorship of Anatomy, Friedrich Schiller University Jena (declined)

Offer W2 Professorship of Anatomy and Cell Biology, Ruhr University Bochum (declined)

Professor (W2) for Anatomy and Embryology at the Anatomy Center at the Georg-August-University Göttingen

since 2008
Full Professor (W3) of Molecular and Cellular Anatomy and Head of Institute at Ulm University

Academic Duties

2023 – 2024 President-elect and board member of the Anatomische Gesellschaft
Member of the IMPP Reviewer Board
Scientific Reviewer for the following selected research journals and granting agencies: Genes & Development, Development, Developmental Biology, Anatomy and Embryology, Glia, Journal of Molecular Medicine, Neuroscience, FEBS, Frontiers in Neuroscience, Histochemistry and Cell Biology, Stem Cells, Plos One, Annals of Anatomy.
DFG, Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada, Raine Medical Research Foundation, Australia, Association Francaise contre les Myopathies (AFM), University of Hasselt, Belgium, FoRUM program Ruhr University Bochum, Office for Technology Assessment at the German Bundestag, State Foundation of Baden-Württemberg (elite funding), Excellence Research Program Mecklenburg-Vorpommern

Honors & Awards

1987-1991 Scholar of the German National Academic Foundation (Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes)
1993 Best Doctoral Thesis Award of the Scientific Society in Freiburg
1996 – 1998 MDC Postdoctoral Fellowship
2002 – 2007 Helmholtz Scholarship
2013 Teaching Award of Ulm University
2022 Best Teacher in Preclinical Medicine Award of the Student Council, Ulm University